Skip to content
April 27, 2011 / laughinglivingloving

Simple Pleasures

For as long as I can remember, rice krispy treats have been one of my favorite, well, treats.  It’s the first recipe I ever memorized (never mind that it only has three ingredients)!  I can still remember making them in my grandma’s kitchen, bittersweet memories since my grandmother passed early this year.  Her memorial service is this weekend, and I can’t make it for various reasons, and it has me a little bummed out.

I made the mistake of grocery shopping while hungry last night, and thanks to that special monthly cycle we women have the pleasure of dealing with, all I wanted was junk food.  Specifically chocolate.  I spied Cocoa Krispies on sale, but knew I didn’t need cereal at home, and besides I’ve been trying hard to eat healthier cereal or oatmeal in the morning.  And then, it hit me.  Why hadn’t I thought of this before – Cocoa Krispie Treats!  It combined everything I was looking for – a bit of nostalgia, junk food, chocolate AND simple enough that I could start them at 10pm last night and have them done half an hour later.

Cocoa Krispy Treats... with PEANUT BUTTER CHIPS!

I had the tail end of a bag of peanut butter chips left, so those were scattered over one end of the pan while the mixture was still warm and pressed in a bit.  It’s tasty, but I think I like them better plain.

For anyone who doesn’t know how to make Krispy Treats already, here’s the recipe:

2 oz butter

10 oz bag marshmallows

6 cups of rice krispies

Melt the butter in a large pan (at least 4 quarts, and that’s on the small side) over medium-low heat.  When the butter is mostly melted, add your marshmallows.  Stir until marshmallows are melted and smooth, then turn off the heat and add rice krispies and stir til it’s all evenly coated.  This is going to take a minute or two and give your arm a decent workout – really dig down to the bottom of the pan so you’re getting all the marshmallow in there.  Spread in a buttered 13×9 pan, and press to even out with a butter spatula, buttered waxed paper, or a big fork dipped in water every 10 seconds or so.

If you’re going to add chocolate chips or other toppings, now is the time to do it so they’ll stick.  If using chips, sprinkle them on, let them sit for five minutes or so to soften a bit, then gently press them into the treats to make sure they adhere.

I’ve always thought it would be fun to make these with other kinds of cereal, but I’ve never gotten around to it.  I’m imagining Fruity Pebbles treats… Golden Grahams treats… maybe even Frosted Flakes treats!

Here are some other krispy treats recipes that I think look exceptionally amazing.

Joy the Baker dishes up decadent krispy treats topped with peanut butter fudge AND chocolate fudge!  I adore Joy’s blog, and I’m so happy I found this in her archives.  Just looking at the picture is enough to make my teeth ache!

Love from the Oven has stuffed her rice krispie treats.  I had no idea this was even possible.  Consider my mind blown.

Rice Krispy treats modeled after ice cream?  Two of my favorite things in the world.  I’m sold.  Thanks to My Name is Snickerdoodle for putting these lovelies out there.

Keep It Simple Foods posted a vegetarian krispy treat with peanut butter and coconut.  They might even be vegan – does anyone know if rice krispies are vegan?  Looks super tasty and full of protein!

Make it Do  takes what I attempted with my chocolate krispy treats to the next level.  Nine candy bars, people.  Nine.  No wonder her son loved making them, it’s a guaranteed sugar high!  And another krispy treat recipe without marshmallows.  Interesting.

And of course, I had to include the Smitten Kitchen.  I don’t think it’s possible to do a food blog recipe roundup without her.  I want to rush home and start to work on at least half of the recipes she posts, and these salted brown butter krispy treats are no exception.  She’s also the parent of one of the cutest children I’ve ever seen pictures of, and usually has a surprise photo of him tucked into each post.  It makes my ovaries ache.

Have a krispy treat recipe you love?  Share it in the comments!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide / Apr 27 2011 3:31 pm

    Wow, that’s just getting too fancy for RKT. Nah, I’d polish them all off in a heartbeat.:)

  2. what katie's baking / Apr 30 2011 1:20 am

    i love simple recipes.
    yummy idea adding pb chips. they look great!
    those stuffed ones look good, too, i’m gonna have to go check them out!

  3. sheila @ Elements / Apr 30 2011 2:10 am

    Who knew there were so many ways to make Rice Krispie treats! They all look so good, and I could go for one right now myself! 🙂 Sorry about your grandmother. 😦

Leave a Reply

